Trailers of the Month

Movie Review: RED

Friday, December 31, 2010 0 comments

Synopsis: Frank, Joe, Marvin, and Victoria used to be the CIA's top agents -- but the secrets they know just made them the Agency's top targets. Now framed for assassination, they must use all of their collective cunning, experience and teamwork to stay one step ahead of their deadly pursuers and stay alive. To stop the operation, the team embarks on an impossible, cross-country mission to break into the top-secret CIA headquarters, where they will uncover one of the biggest conspiracies and cover-ups in government history.
Starring: Bruce Willis, Morgan Freeman, John Malkovich, Mary-Louise Parker, Helen Mirren, Karl Urban, Brian Cox, Richard Dreyfuss
Directed by: Robert Schwentke
U.S. Rating: PG-13

Red was actually one of the good films enjoyed this last Fall. With such an amazing cast (the best of the film), an entertaining plot and some really good laughs, this is one of the films I totally recommend for a good movie weekend at home.

The premise is simple: Frank Moses (Bruce Willis) is a former black-ops CIA agent. He hates living a quiet life in retirement. Feeling so bored and lonely, he begins having often chats over the phone with Sarah (Mary-Louise Parker), who manages Frank's pension records at a pension office in Kansas City.


Frank's quiet and lonely life is disrupted when a hit squad attacks him and his house in the middle of a night. He inmediately knows that his phone might have been tapped and he leaves for Kansas City to protect Sarah. Frank takes Sarah with him... kidnapped? Sort of, he takes her with him against her will but she inmediately knows that he's really protecting her, when CIA agent William Cooper (Karl Urban) tries to kill them.

Frank goes to New Orleans to visit his mentor, Joe Matheson (Morgan Freeman), living in a similar situation (a boring and quiet life in retirement) to tell him about the hit squad.  Following some clues, they meet with Marvin (John Malkovich) a paranoid conspiracy theorist who tried to kill Frank in the past. They all meet also with Ivan Simanov (Brian Cox), a Russian secret agent who had a secret romance with the last secret agent of this team, Victoria (Helen Mirren).

They will find that all of the people that have been previously killed were part of a secret list of people working in a secret mission in Guatemala. All of them (Frank, Victoria, Joe and Marvin) are part of the list, so theywork together to find the responsible of this killing list.

The plot of the film is plain and simple. The big success on this film is the great performance of all the amazing cast, along with some smart and hilarious script lines and situations.

I would rate this movie with a 4/5


Have you watched the film? What did you like or dislike from this movie? What would you rate this movie? Share with us your thoughts!

Enjoy it!... Watch it!

Movie Trailer: The Lincoln Lawyer

Thursday, December 30, 2010 1 comments

Lakeshore entertainment released the trailer for Matthew McConaughey's latest film, The Lincoln Lawyer. An intense thriller to be released this next March 2011. Definitely a "must see" in my list for 2011.
Synopsis: Mickey Haller is a Los Angeles criminal defense attorney who operates out of the back of his Lincoln sedan. Haller has spent most of his career defending garden-variety criminals, until he lands the case of his career: defending Louis Roulet, a Beverly Hills playboy accused of rape and attempted murder. But the seemingly straightforward case suddenly develops into a deadly game of survival for Haller.

Release Date: March 18th, 2011

Check the trailer and let us know what you think about it!


Enjoy it!

Fox Searchlight Pictures has released the movie trailer for the upcoming comedy film, Cedar Rapids. Starring Ed Helms and John C. Reilly, I'm completely sure it will be a great film to watch.
Synopsis: After the death of his professional mentor, a small-town, shy, naive Wisconsin insurance agent must represent his company at a regional insurance convention in Cedar Rapids, Iowa, where his mind is blown by the big city experience.

Release Date: February 11th, 2011

Check the trailer and let us know what you think about it!


Enjoy it!

Movie Review: Piranha 3D

Wednesday, December 29, 2010 0 comments

Synopsis: Every year the population of sleepy Lake Victoria explodes from 5,000 to 50,000 for Spring Break, a riot of sun and drunken fun. But this year, there's something more to worry about than hangovers and complaints from local old timers; A new type of terror is about to be cut loose on Lake Victoria. After a sudden underwater tremor sets free scores of the prehistoric man-eating fish, an unlikely group of strangers must band together to stop themselves from becoming fish food for the area's new razor-toothed residents.
Starring: Elisabeth Shue, Adam Scott, Jerry O'Connell, Ving Rhames, Richard Dreyfuss
Directed by: Alexandre Aja
U.S. Rating: R

The first time I watched the trailer for "Piranha 3D", I couldn't stop thinking on the big success the original film had in 1978. Obviously, I didn't watch the film at that time, since I was just a young boy, but I heard a lot of it in the news and got all the comments from my brother and his friends. I totally thought they would try to just remake it and bring the best of 3D to give a great entertainment time.

The story is simple: It is Spring Break at Lake Victoria (Arizona). The local sheriff, Julie Forester,  is being pushed to her limits. She's being informed about the mysterious disappearance and death of a local, and at the same time, her town is being overrun by crazy unruly teenagers. She senses that there's something dangerous is lurking beneath the surface of the lake, but not even she suspects tof the horror waiting for them, mutant piranhas that are down there, waiting to fill up their bellies with all these crazy young people having wild fun under the sun in this lake. When they find the origins of this mysterious death and the great danger they're facing in this lake, they start a race against time to get everyone out of the water and find a way to kill these mutant piranhas. What she doesn't expect is that her 18-year-old son, Jake,  who was supposed to be at home watching his younger sister and brother, is in the lake, stuck in a sinking boat with his younger brother, sister and girlfriend.

I was totally wrong. To be honest, I don't know what to think about the film. More than being scared of these dangerous creatures and the horrifying situations, I couldn't stop laughing of what I was watching. I mean, the acting wasn't bad at all, it actually had a pretty good cast. My problem was with the content. It was actually gross. Man-eating fish, blood everywhere... and I mean lots and lots of blood!, nudity, even some  poor make-up and CGI scenes.

p.s.: What's up with the penis' scene? Was that really necessary?

So, if you were expecting an exciting thriller and scary plot, similar to the successful one 32 years ago, you'll be extremely disappointed.

I would rate this movie with a 2/5


Have you watched the film? What did you like or dislike from this movie? What would you rate this movie? Share with us your thoughts!

Enjoy it!... Watch it!

Movie Trailer: Your Highness

Tuesday, December 28, 2010 0 comments

This next April 2011, a new kind of Knights will come to our cinemas, a not so brave, fearless, smart and handsome ones. Universal Pictures has released the movie trailer for the upcoming film, Your Highness, starring James Franco, Danny McBride, Zooey Deschanel and Natalie Portman.
Synopsis: Throughout history, tales of chivalry have burnished the legends of brave, handsome knights who rescue fair damsels, slay dragons and conquer evil. But behind many a hero is a good-for-nothing younger brother trying just to stay out of the way of those dragons, evil and trouble in general. Thadeous has spent his life watching his perfect older brother Fabious embark upon valiant journeys and win the hearts of his people. Tired of being passed over for adventure, adoration and the throne, he's settled for a life of wizard's weed, hard booze and easy maidens. But when Fabious' bride-to-be, Belladonna, gets kidnapped by the evil wizard Leezar, the king gives his deadbeat son an ultimatum: Man up and help rescue her or get cut off. Half-assedly embarking upon his first quest, Thadeous joins Fabious to trek across the perilous outlands and free the princess. Joined by Isabel--an elusive warrior with a dangerous agenda of her own--the brothers must vanquish horrific creatures and traitorous knights before they can reach Belladonna. If Thadeous can find his inner hero, he can help his brother prevent the destruction of his land. Stay a slacker, and not only does he die a coward, he gets front row seats to the dawn of an all-new Dark Ages.

Release Date: April 8th, 2011

Check the trailer and let us know what you think about it!


Enjoy it!

Lionsgate Films has released the new movie trailer for the upcoming film, Drive Angry, in 3D. Starring Nicolas Cage, the production team promises to bring a state-of-art 3D action-packed film. So far, it seems to be a version of Ghost Rider, this time, driving a car. I don't know what's happening with Nicolas Cage lately, getting involved with really weird scripts and films, hope he's back to the old style and great action films he used to offer to all of us, his fans.
Synopsis: Milton, a hardened felon has broken out of hell for one last chance at redemption. Intent on stopping a vicious cult who murdered his daughter, he has three days to stop them before they sacrifice her baby beneath a full moon. He's joined by Piper - a young, sexy waitress who liberates her ex-boyfriend's cherry-red muscle car in order to help Milton. Now, the two of them are hot on the trail of the deadly leader of the cult, Jonah King, who believes it is his destiny to use the baby to unleash hell on earth. But the bloodthirsty cult is the least of Milton's problems. The police are after him too. And worse, an enigmatic killer known only as "The Accountant" - who has been sent by the Devil to retrieve Milton and deliver him back to hell. With wicked cunning and hypnotic savagery, the Accountant will relentlessly pursue Milton at high speed across the country until his mission is accomplished. Fueled by high octane and pure rage, Milton must use his anger to go beyond all human limits to avenge his daughter's murder, before his last chance at redemption is revoked.

Release Date: February 11th, 2011

Check the trailer and let us know what you think about it!


Enjoy it!

Saoirse Ronan, the young beautiful and sweet girl from The Lovely Bones, is back to the big screen. She's Hanna, a 14-year old hit-girl, trained by her father an ex-CIA. An intense  drama-thriller that looks promising for this next Spring 2011. Focus Features has released the first trailer for this film, Hanna.
Synopsis: Raised by her father, an ex-CIA man, in the wilds of Finland, Hanna's upbringing and training have been one and the same, all geared to making her the perfect assassin. The turning point in her adolescence is a sharp one; sent into the world by her father on a mission, Hanna journeys stealthily across Europe while eluding agents dispatched after her by a ruthless intelligence operative with secrets of her own. As she nears her ultimate target, Hanna faces startling revelations about her existence and unexpected questions about her humanity.

Release Date: April 8th, 2011

Check the trailer and let us know what you think about it!


Enjoy it!

Movie Review: Despicable Me

Monday, December 27, 2010 1 comments

Synopsis: In a happy suburban neighborhood surrounded by white picket fences with flowering rose bushes, sits a black house with a dead lawn. Unbeknownst to the neighbors, hidden beneath this home is a vast secret hideout. Surrounded by a small army of minions, we discover Gru planning the biggest heist in the history of the world. He is going to steal the moon, yes, the moon. Gru delights in all things wicked. Armed with his arsenal of shrink rays, freeze rays, and battle-ready vehicles for land and air, he vanquishes all who stand in his way. Until the day he encounters the immense will of three little orphaned girls who look at him and see something that no one else has ever seen: a potential Dad. The world's greatest villain has just met his greatest challenge: three little girls named Margo, Edith and Agnes.
Starring: Steve Carell, Jason Segel, Russell Brand, Elsie Fisher, Ken Jeong
Directed by: Chris Renaud, Pierre Coffin
U.S. Rating: PG

This was a particular succesfful year for animated films. We had all kind of great films, including How To Train Your Dragon, Tangled, The Princess And The Frog, Tinker Bell, Megamind, among others. But my two favorite ones are definitely... Toy Story 3 and Despicable Me. It will be tough to decide which one will get the Golden Globes and Oscars this year.

Gru is not a conventional villian. He gets satisfaction on those evil little things, for example, giving a balloon with an animal shape to a kid and then explode it in the kid's face, or just freezing everyone at a coffee shop just to avoid waiting in line, etc. He's a villian with huge plans and evil dreams, but with poor skills to make those plans work. So, even when he thinks he's the smartest villian, the world is facing the power of another smart villian in town... Vector. Vector has stolen the Piramids of Egypt, getting all the attention and respect for his evil work. Gru needs to come with a better and more impressive evil plan, so he decides to steal... The moon!

Gru never planned that three little girls he tried to manipulate to help him steal a powerful weapon, would become more important and meaningful in his life than any other plan or evil actions. Gru finally steals the moon, but it comes with a big price, and Gru prefers to pay the price (save the three little girls) instead of getting the world's evil recognition.

An extremely funny animated film for all ages. I loved the way they included some adult humorous details in this film, giving the fresh content for adults to fully enjoy it.

There's no doubt that my top favorite characters are: The Minions! Those little evil "twinkies" are HILARIOUS!!!

The digital copy recently released in the US comes with some extra content that I DO really want to watch. It is definitely a film that you must buy and have it at home. So I hope to have it for my B-day!

I would rate this movie with a 5/5


Here you have 3 of the Minions mini-movies released on the DVD & Blu Ray:




Have you watched the film? What did you like or dislike from this movie? What would you rate this movie? Share with us your thoughts!

Enjoy it!... Watch it!

Movie Trailer: Cowboys & Aliens

Sunday, December 26, 2010 1 comments

Jon Favreau, the director of Iron Man, and the producers Ron Howard and Steven Spielberg worked on one of the most expected action flick for next Summer 2011: Cowboys & Aliens. Starring Daniel Craig, Olivia Wilde, Harrison Ford  & Sam Rockwell, this is surely one of the most exciting action films I'll have in my list for this next year!
Synopsis: 1873. Arizona Territory. A stranger with no memory of his past stumbles into the hard desert town of Absolution. The only hint to his history is a mysterious shackle that encircles one wrist. What he discovers is that the people of Absolution don't welcome strangers, and nobody makes a move on its streets unless ordered to do so by the iron-fisted Colonel Dolarhyde. It's a town that lives in fear.

But Absolution is about to experience fear it can scarcely comprehend as the desolate city is attacked by marauders from the sky. Screaming down with breathtaking velocity and blinding lights to abduct the helpless one by one, these monsters challenge everything the residents have ever known.

Now, the stranger they rejected is their only hope for salvation. As this gunslinger slowly starts to remember who he is and where he¿s been, he realizes he holds a secret that could give the town a fighting chance against the alien force. With the help of the elusive traveler Ella, he pulls together a posse comprised of former opponents - townsfolk, Dolarhyde and his boys, outlaws and Apache warriors - all in danger of annihilation. United against a common enemy, they will prepare for an epic showdown for survival.

Release Date: July 29th, 2011

Check the trailer and let us know what you think about it!


Enjoy it!

Universal Pictures has released the new movie trailer for the upcoming comedy film, Paul. Starring Simon Pegg, Nick Frost, Seth Rogen (Paul), Jason Bateman, Kristen Wiig and Jane Lynch. Definitely one of the first important comedy films in 2011 added to my "must-see" comedy films next year.
Synopsis: For the past 60 years, an alien named Paul has been hanging out at a top-secret military base. For reasons unknown, the space-travelling smart ass decides to escape the compound and hop on the first vehicle out of town—a rented RV containing Earthlings Graeme Willy and Clive Collings.
Chased by federal agents and the fanatical father of a young woman that they accidentally kidnap, Graeme and Clive hatch a fumbling escape plan to return Paul to his mother ship. And as two nerds struggle to help, one little green man might just take his fellow outcasts from misfits to intergalactic heroes.

Release Date: February 14th, 2011

Check the trailer and let us know what you think about it!


Enjoy it!

A new romantic comedy will be released this next February, 2011. Kaleidoscope Films released the new movie trailer for the romantic comedy, Chalet Girl. Starring Ed Westwick, Brook Shields, Sophia Bush, Bill Nighy and Felicity Jones.
Synopsis: 19 year-old ex-skateboarder Kim is working in a burger bar but finds herself a chalet girl job in a glam ski resort for the cash. She can't ski -- and she doesn't understand the posh world she's in but when she finds an old snowboard, she begins to teach herself to board and finds that her skateboarding skills lead to a raw natural talent on the board! She also starts catching the attention of the handsome Jonny (Ed Westwick), one of her bosses. Can she overcome the odds - and herself- to become a champion snowboarder & claim the man?

Release Date: February 18th, 2011

Check the trailer and let us know what you think about it!


Enjoy it!

Synopsis: As a child, Ip Man learns Wing Chun from Chan Wah-shun together with Ip Tin-chi (Ip Man’s adopted brother) and Lee Mei-wai. After Chan’s death from illness, Ip continues to learn Wing Chun from his senior, Ng Chung-sok, before eventually leaving Foshan to study in Hong Kong. In Hong Kong, during a hockey match, Ip and his schoolmates are racially insulted by a Westerner. Ip Man defeated him and his popularity soared after the incident. While getting medicine to treat the Westerner, he meets master Leung Bik, who is actually the son of Leung Jan, Chan Wah-shun’s teacher. Ip Man learns a different, improved style of Wing Chun from Leung and his prowess in martial arts improves tremendously.

The film focuses on Ip Man’s early life and the story of how he learnt Wing Chun. In contrast, Ip Man and Ip Man 2 focus on the events in his life that took place during the Second Sino-Japanese War and after he moved to Hong Kong.
Starring: Donnie Yen , Yu-Hang To, Siu-Wong Fan, Sammo Hung Kam-Bo, Huang Yi, Rose Chan
Directed by: Herman Yau
U.S. Rating: PG-13

I had the chance this week to watch a digital copy of this recent film, "The Legend Is Born: IP Man". I heard of the first film a couple of years ago, but never had the chance to watch it.

 I'm a martial arts movie lover, I must admit that. The only problem with these films is that in most of these films, all turns around the fight scenes, the rest of the plots are just empty stories, or just 'more of the same'. I've got impressed with the new martial arts experts, for example, Tony Jaa, but I never had the chance hear or watch anything about Donnie Jen, with such an amazing and sharp-skilled talent in martial arts.

This film is a prequel of the original film, IP Man, released in 2008. It brings the story of the legend in his early age, when he was just a young boy and never thought he'd become an expert and hero.

What I like about the film is the great drama and romance included in this period piece based in the ancient China. The production of this film was capable to balance the amazing fighting scenes with the great script. The fighting scenes covered all my expectations for a great martial arts film,  they aresimply amazing! Great choreography.

It is highly recommended for any martial arts movie lover!

I would rate this movie with a 4/5


Have you watched the film? What did you like or dislike from this movie? What would you rate this movie? Share with us your thoughts!

Enjoy it!... Watch it!

The Weinstein Company has released the movie trailer for the upcoming film, Blue Valentine, to be released next week, December 29th.
Synopsis: The story of love found and love lost told in past and present moments in time. Flooded with romantic memories of their courtship, Dean and Cindy use one night to try and save their failing marriage.

Release Date: December 29th, 2010

Check the trailer and let us know what you think about it!


Enjoy it!

It's Christmas! Definitely the best holiday season of the year.

It's been a long year loaded with great opportunities, challenges, goals achieved, amazing news and also, such amazing films.

We enjoyed all kind of great films this year, no doubt about it. And I'm sure that 2011 will be such an amazing year for all of us, the movie lovers.


Anyway, since today is Christmas Day, I can't feel it is Christmas until I have a really good laugh with my Christmas favorite movie: Bad Santa. Obviously is not the "traditional" Christmas kind of film we're supposed to watch to feel the holiday spirit, but this film just makes me laugh every single time I watch it.

I'm glad there have been several talks and meetings to bring a sequel for Christmas in 2011. Many people say they shouldn't bring a new sequel, they argue that one was enough, but the important thing is that Billy Bob Thornton is excited with the idea and new possible content, as well as all of us, Bad Santa's fans.

So, If you haven't watched this film, here's the trailer to give you an idea of its content:


Also, I would like to share this hilarious video I received few days ago. This guy is definitely a "REAL" Bad Santa.


Merry Christmas! Enjoy it!

Magnet Releasing has released the latest movie trailer for the upcoming film, Vanishing on 7th Street. An intense thriller to be released this next January, 2011.
Synopsis: An unexplained blackout plunges the city of Detroit into total darkness, and by the time the sun rises, only a few people remain -- surrounded by heaps of empty clothing, abandoned cars and lengthening shadows. A small handful of strangers that have survived the night each find their way to a rundown bar, whose gasoline-powered generator and stockpile of food and drink make it the last refuge in a deserted city. With daylight beginning to disappear completely and whispering shadows surrounding the survivors, they soon discover that the enemy is the darkness itself, and only the few remaining light sources can keep them safe. As time begins to run out for them, darkness closes in and they must face the ultimate terror.

Release Date: January 7th, 2011

Check the trailer and let us know what you think about it!


Enjoy it!

Anna Faris and Topher Grace bring to the big screen the film, Take Me Home Tonight, a romantic comedy to be released this next March, 2011. The first movie trailer has been released and according with some inicial comments and critics, it seems to be a really good film.
Synopsis: Follow an aimless college grad who pursues his dream girl at a wild Labor Day weekend party. He, his twin sister and their best friend struggle with their burgeoning adulthood over the course of the night.

Release Date: March 4th, 2011

Check the trailer and let us know what you think about it!


Enjoy it!

Anchor Bay Entertainment has released the new movie trailer for the upcoming thriller film, And Soon The Darkness. Starring Amber Heard, Odette Yustman and Karl Urban, the film will be released this next February 2011.
Synopsis: Stephanie and Ellie's vacation to an exotic village in Argentina is a perfect 'girl's getaway' to bask in the sun, shop and flirt with the handsome locals. After a long night of bar-hopping, the girls get into an argument, and Stephanie heads out alone in the morning to cool off. But when she returns, Ellie has disappeared. Finding signs of a struggle, Stephanie fears the worst, and turns to the police for help. But the local authorities have their hands full already - with a string of unsolved kidnappings targeting young female tourists. Skeptical of the sheriff's competency, she enlists help from Michael, an American ex-pat staying at their hotel. Together they go on a frantic search for Ellie, but Stephanie soon realizes that trusting his seemingly good intentions may drag her farther from the truth. With danger mounting, and time running out, Stephanie must find her friend before darkness falls.

Release Date: February 11th, 2011

Check the trailer and let us know what you think about it!


Enjoy it!

Simply amazing, that's my first opinion of the upcoming film with Bradley Cooper, Abbie Cornish and Robert De Niro. Universal Pictures has released the new trailer for the film, Limitless, to be released in March 2011..
Synopsis: Out-of-work writer Eddie Morgan gets rejected by his girlfriend Lindy, confirming his belief that he has zero future. However, that all vanishes the day an old friend introduces Eddie to MDT, a designer pharmaceutical that makes him laser focused and more confident than any man alive. Now on an MDT-fueled odyssey, everything Eddie's read, heard or seen is instantly organized and available to him. As the former nobody rises to the top of the financial world, he draws the attention of business mogul Carl Van Loon, who sees this enhanced version of Eddie as the tool to make billions. But brutal side effects jeopardize his meteoric ascent. With a dwindling stash and hit men who will eliminate him to get the MDT, Eddie must stay wired long enough to elude capture and fulfill his destiny. If he can't, he will become just another victim who thought he'd found invincibility in a bottle.

Release Date: March 18th, 2011

Check the trailer and let us know what you think about it!


Enjoy it!

Movie Review: The Other Guys

Thursday, December 23, 2010 0 comments

Synopsis: Detective Allen Gamble is a forensic accountant who's more interested in paperwork than hitting the streets. Detective Terry Hoitz is a tough guy who has been stuck with Allen as his partner ever since an unfortunate run-in with Derek Jeter. Allen and Terry idolize the city's top cops, Danson and Highsmith, but when an opportunity arises for the Other Guys to step up, things don't quite go as planned.
Starring: Will Ferrell, Mark Wahlberg, Eva Mendes, Michael Keaton, Steve Coogan
Directed by: Adam McKay
U.S. Rating: PG-13

Another great action comedy enjoyed this year. The Other Guys joins an amazing cast to a really funny and entertaining plot. With 5 of my top favorites actors (Will Ferrell, Mark Wahlberg, Michael Keaton, Samuel L Jackson and Dwayne 'The Rock' Johnson), I couldn't expect less than the great fun and loud laughs I had watching this film.

Detectives Danson ('The Rock') and Highsmith (Samuel L Johnson) are the toughest and most famous police couple fighting criminals in all the streets of New York. In the other hand, we have "The Other Guys", Detective Allen Gamble (Will Ferrell), a forensic accountant more interested in all the office paperwork than fighting crime on the streets and Terry Hoitz (Mark Wahlberg), a frustrated and disgraced officer that has been assigned to be Gamble's partner ever since he shot Derek Jeter during the World Series.

Gamble and Hoitz receive no respect from the other officers, especially from Danson and Highsmith, no matter how much Gamble idolizes them. During a pursuit of a group of bank robbers, Danson and Highsmith (lost in their own 'invincible' ego) jump off a 20-story building onto the sidewalk, trying to catch these professional robbers. Now that the police department has lost their best Detective couple, the fight to conquer that position has started. While other officers try to do their best to fight crime and get their  recognition, Gamble prefers to do his best at a very secure and quiet place, his desk. When an opportunity arises for Gamble and Hoitz, everything they do works against them. They investigate a very important  scaffolding permit violation and corruption case led by multi-billionaire David Ershon to cover his company's losses. Gamble and Hoitz are forced to split up, Hoitz becomes a traffic cop and Gamble tries to investigate the case by himself. When he finally finds all the clues to solve the case, they reunite again and become the true heroes solving the case and putting behind bars the bad guys, Ershon and Wesley.

The film was loaded with spontaneous and really funny scenes. The cast brought their best talent to make the film really, really entertaining. I totally laught with Will Ferrell's role, especially when he goes back to his old life as a 'Pimp'. He was HILARIOUS! It was also really funny to see Michael Keaton working in this film, his role was really funny as the Captain of the police department.

I highly recommend this film as a good option if you're looking for a really funny movie and enjoy a good time.


I would rate this movie with a 4/5


Have you watched the film? What did you like or dislike from this movie? What would you rate this movie? Share with us your thoughts!

Enjoy it!... Watch it!

Movie Trailer: Water for Elephants

Wednesday, December 22, 2010 0 comments

The new trailer for the upcoming film, Water for Elephants has been released. Starring Robert Pattinson, Reese Witherspoon and Christopher Waltz, this drama based on the New York Times bestseller will be released this next April, 2011.
Synopsis: Jacob Jankowski is about to take his final exams in veterinary medicine at Cornell when his parents are killed in a car accident. He drops out and joins Benzini Brothers, a second-rate traveling circus trying to survive during the Depression.

Release Date: April 15th, 2011

Check the trailer and let us know what you think about it!


Enjoy it!

Yet another great animated film to be released in 2011. 20th Century Fox has released the new trailer for the upcoming animated film, Rio. Definitely one more added to my must-see animated films list for 2011.
Synopsis: A nerdy macaw leaves the comfort of his cage in Minnesota and heads to Rio de Janeiro.

Release Date: April 8th, 2011

Check the trailer and let us know what you think about it!


Enjoy it!

Sony Pictures has released the trailer for Paul Giamatti,'s latest film, Barney's Version. A romantic film starring Paul Giamatti, Dustin Hoffman, Rosamund Pike, Minnie Driver and Rachelle Lefevre, to be released in January, 2011.
Synopsis: Barney Panofsky is a seemingly ordinary man who lives an extraordinary life. A candid confessional, told from Barney's point of view, the film spans three decades and two continents, taking us through the different "acts" of his unusual history. There is his first wife, Clara, a flame-haired, flagrantly unfaithful free sprit with whom Barney briefly lives "la vie de Boheme" in Rome. The "Second Mrs. P.," is a wealthy Jewish Princess who shops and talks incessantly, barely noticing that Barney is not listening. And it is at their lavish wedding that Barney meets, and starts pursuing, his third wife, the mother of his two children, and his true love. With his father, Izzy as his sidekick, Barney takes us through the many highs, and a few too many lows, of his long and colorful life. Not only does Barney turn out to be a true romantic, he is also capable of all kinds of sneaky acts of gallantry, generosity, and goodness when we -- and he -- least expect it. His is a gloriously full life, played out on a grand scale.

Release Date: January 14th, 2011

Check the trailer and let us know what you think about it!


Enjoy it!

Fox Searchlight Pictures has released the official trailer for the upcoming film, The Tree of Life. Starring Brad Pitt and Sean Penn, this drama will be on the big screen this next Spring 2011.
Synopsis: In a mystical world of folklore, several individuals embrace in a race to find the Tree of Life, said to give immortality, fertility, and other supernatural powers.

Release Date: May 27th, 2011

Check the trailer and let us know what you think about it!


Enjoy it!

Movie Review: Inception

Tuesday, December 21, 2010 0 comments

Synopsis: Dom Cobb is a skilled thief, the absolute best in the dangerous art of extraction, stealing valuable secrets from deep within the subconscious during the dream state when the mind is at its most vulnerable. Cobb's rare ability has made him a coveted player in this treacherous new world of corporate espionage, but it has also made him an international fugitive and cost him everything he has ever loved. Now Cobb is being offered a chance at redemption. One last job could give him his life back but only if he can accomplish the impossible -- inception. Instead of the perfect heist, Cobb and his team of specialists have to pull off the reverse: their task is not to steal an idea but to plant one. If they succeed, it could be the perfect crime. But no amount of careful planning or expertise can prepare the team for the dangerous enemy that seems to predict their every move. An enemy that only Cobb could have seen coming.
Starring: Leonardo DiCaprio, Ken Watanabe, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Marion Cotillard, Ellen Page, Tom Hardy, Cillian Murphy, Tom Berenger, Michael Caine
Directed by: Christopher Nolan
U.S. Rating: PG-13

NOTE: If you haven't watched the film yet, you might be completely spoiled with my thoughts and review.

I believe I was one of those thousands of people who had to watch Inception more than once to finally (hopefully) understand what really happened with Dom (Leonardo DiCaprio) and his final and most important job, the "Inception". I was patiently waiting for the digital copy, so I could watch it at home and be able to decipher what really happened in this film. I finally got my Blu Ray copy few days ago and watched it, keeping in mind some previous reviews, comments and some very, very important details provided by people involved on this film.

I would like to start my review with a thought that came to my mind this week. I remember the time when we went to watch Avatar. I must say that I still believe it is at the very top of technology. There not a single film in 2010 and yet to come in 2011 that could match Avatar's high tech and visual effects. James Cameron is a master on this matter, no doubt about it. I respect him for his talent using the latest high tech. But in the other hand, I was really happy to see that Avatar didn't win the Oscar for best film, since the plot had nothing special to offer. It was all about the visual, but not the content.

Inception is that kind of film that brings ALL the key elements to make it not just a memorable, extremely entertaining and visually amazing film, but a very smart, challenging and mentally demanding plot and content. It is the kind of film that not just fascinates you with all the amazing visual effects, but keeps you thinking ALL the time, trying to decipher what really happened and even makes you leave the theatre thinking  (for days) about what was all about on this story.

Christopher Nolan, one of my TOP favorite directors, delivered such an amazing film. He brought not just an extremely smart, compact and complete plot, but a very high tech and amazing visual content and effects. Such a professional and unique cast, as well as a brilliant directing work.

Just few days after we went to watch the film, I found an article revealling some very important details related to the plot. One of the most meaningful comments was provided by one of the custom designers who said that Dom couldn't still be in a dream at the end of the film. This custom designer said it was not possible, since the kids dressed different cloths on the very last scene. That changed everything I believed! Since I initially believed he was dreaming all the time and at the end, he really didn't care to see if the totem stopped spinning or not because he just wanted to be with his kids. I had to wait all this time to finally confirm if this comment was true or false.

So, what do I believe about Inception? I'll try to explain it as simple as possible. I'll provide some of the key elements I believe supports my point of view and understanding of this plot.

The main idea I believe is that Dom (Leonardo DiCaprio) was living in a big and complex dream, incapable to decipher reality in his life. He was the best and most experienced person to execute the highest complex extraction, as well as the Inception, but he wasn;t planning and excecuting the Inception on Fisher's mind. All the big plan and multiple level of dreams he prepared were just part of the big Inception planned for him to bring him back to reality. This complex Inception was actually planned by Saito to bring Dom back and be able to live his real life. In fact, he was the one who finally "brought him home". What were the key elements that made me get to this conclusion?

1. Almost every single member of the team asked him to come back to reality. His dad had an important part on this request, when he went to visit him at the university.
2. Arthur told Ariadne that Dom always worked hard to do all those things he used to say that should be avoided. He was constantly creating levels, worlds and situations (most of them based on his memories) and couldn't escape of them, since he completely lost the capability of recognizing the real world. The scene when they went to visit the chemist is very important to understand this.
3. Even though there were multiple dream levels and a complete team involved in this Inception, something important to think about is that Dom always told Ariadne to never reveal the labyrinth created to prevent projections. These projections were people created by the person populating the dream world organized by the architect. Mal appeared in most of these levels and dreams, just because Dom was basically dreaming and populating the big dream.
4. He never had his own totem, he used Mal's totem to check if he was in a dreaming or not. That's why he couldn't know if he was finally dreaming or not. He explained clearly the purpose of totems and why it shouldn't be touched or used by other people. He was using Mal's totem, breaking the rules and purposes  clearly defined for totems.
5. All the members of the Inception team pushed him always to give more and more, saying that his plan wouldn't work. Key phrases were always used by some of the team. Every single one of them played a key role creating and infiltrating the idea of this Inception in his mind to help him to come home... to come to reality. He thought he was creating and infiltrating the idea on Fisher's mind, but the team was really doing it on Dom's mind.
6. When he's finally back with Saito, every member of the team looked at him and showed through their smiles that he made it... he did break through his dreams and was back to reality. There was no conversation or words among them.
7. His dad was waiting for him at the airport, when he never planned that with him. He looked surprised when he saw him there. Obviously, his dad knew about the real Inception.
8. In the very last effort to save Saito, he finds that Saito aged, he never aged. The dream ends when Saito invites him to finish the job and bring them back. Saito invites him to do it, Saito is the one who finally helped him to come back to reality.
9. Most important... When Dom arrives home and sees his kids in the backyard, his kids are wearing different clothes, especially Phillipa, who is wearing a different dress. That clearly shows that he wasn't dreaming, since he ALWAYS kept the same perfect image and memory of his kids. The kids were also older, around 2 years older than the kids shown through his memories.

It's crazy how clever was Nolan. He never revealed what really happened at the end, but he left so many different clues (words, places, clothes, images, people, concepts, time, colors, etc, etc, etc) on this film. The most important thing to know is that no matter if he's in a dream or not, he finally achieves his most desired dream... to see his kids faces one more time and spend the rest of his life with them.

Definitely a pretty smart script, so clever to let every single person the opportunity to have their own opinion and idea of what really happened.


I would rate this movie with a HUGE, massive 5/5


Have you watched the film? What did you like or dislike from this movie? What would you rate this movie?

Do you think my point of view is correct? Or do you have a different point of view, explanation or theory?

Share with us your thoughts!

Enjoy it!... Watch it!

Movie Trailer: The Mecanic

Monday, December 20, 2010 0 comments

The new trailer for the upcoming film, The Mechanic, has been released. Starring Jason Statham, Donald Sutherland and Ben Foster, this action-packed film will be released this next January, 2011.
Synopsis: Arthur Bishop is a 'mechanic' - an elite assassin with a strict code and unique talent for cleanly eliminating targets. It's a job that requires professional perfection and total detachment, and Bishop is the best in the business. But when his mentor and close friend Harry is murdered, Bishop is anything but detached. His next assignment is self-imposed - he wants those responsible dead. His mission grows complicated when Harry's son Steve approaches him with the same vengeful goal and a determination to learn Bishop's trade. Bishop has always acted alone but he can't turn his back on Harry's son. A methodical hit man takes an impulsive student deep into his world and a deadly partnership is born. But while in pursuit of their ultimate mark, deceptions threaten to surface and those hired to fix problems become problems themselves.

Release Date: January 28th, 2011

Check the trailer and let us know what you think about it!


Enjoy it!

I already marked off on my calendar for this day: April 29th, 2011. Fast Five (or should I say, The Fast & The Furious 5) is coming to the big screen. Definitely, one of my top favorite franchises. Packed with the best action!
Synopsis: Since Brian O'Conner and Mia Toretto broke Dom Toretto out of custody, they've blown across many borders to elude authorities. Now backed into a corner in Rio de Janeiro, they must pull one last job in order to gain their freedom. As they assemble their elite team of top racers, the unlikely allies know their only shot of getting out for good means confronting the corrupt businessman who wants them dead. But he's not the only one on their tail. Hard-nosed federal agent Luke Hobbs never misses his target. When he is assigned to track down Dom and Brian, he and his strike team launch an all-out assault to capture them. But as his men tear through Brazil, Hobbs learns he can't separate the good guys from the bad. Now, he must rely on his instincts to corner his prey... before someone else runs them down first.

Release Date: April 29th, 2011

Check the trailer and let us know what you think about it!


Enjoy it!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Recent Tweets

Follow 35mmReviews on Twitter